Gluten and lactose-free strawberry-rhubarb pie

Sometimes you have a cake you really want to make but just never get round to it. In my case this is a rhubarb pie. As one of my first projects I wanted to make rhubarb cupcakes, only to find out that the season for rhubarb had long passed.

Last week the boyfriend and I went to my parents for a BBQ as all of a sudden it was such gorgeous weather. As a surprise I wanted to bake something, they do so much for us and I thought it was a nice excuse to try out a new recipe 🙂

Flipping through the pages  of my recipe book I decided I wanted to make something with strawberries. My dad absolutely loves strawberry cake and the day before we had some delicious ones at my in-laws. I spotted a rhubarb-strawberry pie, and it was even still rhubarb season!

Meanwhile I can handle small amount of lactose, but as this recipe required quite some whipped cream I decided to go for the lactose-free variant from Minus-L. All the groceries were done, time to bake some cake!

The cake was delicious and I would advise everybody to make this themselves, especially now the rhubarb is still for sale! Due to the lemon the cake gets a very fresh taste and the vanilla pudding in the rhubarb compote complements both the rhubarb as well as the strawberries. I did find out that lactose-free whipped cream needs an enhancer to solidify it a bit, but luckily bad structure didn’t take anything away from the taste.

The cake itself was a tad dry, a next time I would also add the juice of the lemon to the batter. While making the batter I wasn’t paying enough attention, as we were only with four people I wanted to make half of the recipe. However I made the full amount thus decided to make cupcakes of the other half for in the freezer so I have some back-up to take to parties or other festivities. As I had a ‘naked’ lemon I added the lemon juice to the cupcake batter and these ended up being a lot less dry. Perhaps a little extra baking soda could also help,  if my chemistry knowledge serves me right this should react together with the acid of the lemon juice and help the cake become more fluffy. I haven’t tried this out yet so no guarantees on this one.

Even without the improvements this was an amazing cake and everyone enjoyed it very much!

Tip: step 7-9 can be made before baking the cake

Gluten and lactose free strawberry-rhubarb pie

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 150 grams of vegetable margarine
  • 350 grams + 1 tbs sugar
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 eggs
  • 200 grams of glutenfree all-purpose flour, I used Schär mix C
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 100 ml lactose free milk
  • 800 grams rhubarb (650 without the skin)
  • 2 packets of vanilla pudding powder (to cook with 500ml of lactose-free milk)
  • 50 grams of pure chocolate
  • 500 grams of strawberries
  • 200 ml lactose free whipped cream (liquid form)
  1. Grease a 26-cm diameter cake tin
  2. Wash and grate the lemon and mix this together with the margarine and 200 grams of sugar until a creamy mass is formed
  3. Add the eggs
  4. In a separate bowl, add the flour and the baking powder
  5. Now add a little bit of flour first, then add a little milk and mix thoroughly before adding the next bit of flour and milk
    1. You could add the juice from the lemon here in order to make the cake less dry
  6. Fill the cake tin with the batter and pop it in the oven for 25-30 minutes at 175C
  7. Peel the rhubarb and cut it into small pieces. Put the rhubarb into a saucepan and add 150 grams of sugar, let it sit for 15 minutes
  8. Bring the rhubarb to a boil and just before the pieces fall apart take out a couple for garnishing the cake at the end. Boil the rhubarb for 10 minutes without a lidIMG_5688
  9. Combine the pudding powder and the 100ml of lactose-free milk and stir it through the rhubarb compote. Keep stirring and let the mixture boil for an additional minute. Then take the pan off the heat and let it cool down. (This takes relatively long so I would suggest making this before the cake)
  10. Melt the chocolate and spread it in a thin layer over the cooled down cake. Pop the cake into the fridge until the chocolate is set
  11. While the cake is in the fridge wash and cut the strawberries into small pieces. Again save a couple for garnishing the cake at the end
  12. Whip up the whipped cream, if you are using lactose free whipped cream you may need some gelatin or an additional component to make the whipped cream more stiff. Gently stir the whipped cream through the rhubarb compote. Next gently stir the strawberry pieces through the mixture
  13. Spread the compote mixture over the cake and let it stiffen-up for at least four hours in the fridge
  14. Once the compote mixture is sturdy garnish the cake with the rhubarb and strawberries and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

