Even the best make mistakes

As the sunrays cascade over my face, I hope my third attempt to write this blog will be successful. Because how do you write about the biggest mistake in your diabetes career? About a morning filled with hypo’s without a logical explanation, and not even going up when you don’t bolus for lunch? About not rising above 3,5mmol (65 mg/dl) for six hours (!!) and only figuring out why three days later?

30 units instead of 0.

It happens to the best. I am an exemplary diabetic, measuring at least 6x a day, entering all the information into my pump and logging all choices I make which deviate from what the pump suggests. But this even happened to me. I couldn’t believe it when I saw the upload…. 30 units, it had happened.

The boyfriend was actually quite relieved, he was a bit worried that such a hypo-filled day could occur at any moment. I guess he was right, it really wasn’t a fun day. After breakfast I wanted to get up and I felt a little light-headed so I measured, 2,7mmol ( 48 mg/dl). Hmm…  did the insulin act faster than my breakfast carbs? I downed a glass of lemonade and measured again after 30 minutes. Another glass of lemonade, sugar tabs, cotton candy and even a bagel for lunch with a major glass of juice without a bolus did not help! Finally I decided to call the doctor, this was getting scary. Together we looked through my bolus history, but I didn’t look further than my morning bolus, after all, I hadn’t given any insulin before that?!

The lesson I learnt was to always check that a 0,0 bolus is indeed a 0,0 bolus and the pump didn’t jump to the maximum bolus amount. And, if I do remain low for a longer period of time, dig a little deeper into the bolus history.

But being able to eat cotton candy without worrying about my sugars, that truly was a great moment!

IMG_5357

