And the winner is…

Saturday September 13th  2014 there was an actual glutenfree bake-off! This was organized by www.glutenfreewebshop.com .

Upon arrival delicious cookies and homemade muffins were waiting to be devoured. With drinks and baked goods we got know each other and conversations were started. Questions like “what food do you miss the most?”, “how long have you been eating glutenfree” or comments like “at our place everyone eats glutenfree” or “glutenfree food is so expensive” were exchanged. After a brief introduction the time had come, we were allowed to get started!

Prior to the event I had made a plan when to make what so I wouldn’t lose precious time. The result would be a pistachio cake; on a chocolate cake base I would roll up a cake with pistachio crème in between. This would be covered with a thin layer of fondant ganache after which I put pistachio brittle around the sides. (The recipe can be found at the end of this blog)

The cake was in the oven, the crème was done and I was trying to figure out what to do next. With my plan in my hands I couldn’t seem to conclude I needed to make the pistachio brittle next. My pump vibrated, what now? Low alarm, alright lets measure. 2.8, right. I looked around and saw a bag of sugar and dived right in! After a spoon full of sugar (no medicine to go down with it) and a juice box I was recharged and ready to go. Only I still couldn’t read the numbers on the scale as my eyes were still a little blurry. Luckily help was around so I made my mom measure the sugar and by the time the brittle went in the oven I was back on track. Until my pump gave the alarm I hadn’t even realized that for a while there I had not thought about my diabetes at all!

The big moment was there, the jury was about to taste our creations. What a surprise, we were all allowed to taste each other’s cakes as well. My dream had become reality! For years now I dream about a bridal-cake tasting session but since the glutenfree diet I have given up hope on experiencing this. It wasn’t bridal cake but it totally lived up to the dream, honestly, it was even better as I had never expected to experience this anymore.

DSC_1055
The inside of my cake

Vicky Little John (Bake my day) cuts my cake. Surprise and astonishment how well the stripes of my green pistachio crème worked out with the light cake. Then the first bite, and the second. All three the judges were unanimous, this was a great cake. Somebody who judges cakes every day liked my glutenfree cake.  My face could have lit up the room, I was beaming! The cherry on top was that my cake was announced the winner, and for the first time I realized eating glutenfree may be fun. As a prize I got two bags filled with pasta and flours for baking. No doubt there will be some blogs about those soon!

Hele groep glutenvrije bakwedstrijd 13 sep 2014

Pistachio cake with white chocolate ganache

White chocolate ganache: 

50ml whipped cream, 150 gram white chocolate

  • Heat the whipped cream in a pan, melt the chocolate in the cream using a whisk

Cake:

4 eggs, 50 grams of sugar, pinch of salt, 60 grams of flour, 2-3 spoons of cocoa powder

  • Split the eggs.
  • Beat the egg white, salt and 25 grams of sugar until stiff. Beat the egg yolks with 25 grams of sugar until a creamy mass. Add the egg whites on top of the egg yolk mass.
  • Sieve the flour of the mass (this makes the cake fluffy, do this especially for glutenfree baking!) and and gently stir it through the egg with a spoon.
  • Spread 3/4 of the mass on a baking tray covered with baking paper and bake this for approximately 15 minutes at 175 degrees Celsius. The cake should be golden brown and the edges should not be crispy (if they are cut them off before rolling).
  • Add cocoa powder to the remaining 1/4 of the mass, gently stir and spoon into a small round baking tin covered in baking paper. Pop this in the oven when the sheet cake is done.
  • When the sheet cake is done turn over the tray onto a damp tea towel and pull of the baking paper. Leave until cooled but take care the cake doesn’t get too soggy. The chocolate cake does not need to be turned over onto a damp cloth, this is only needed for the cake which will be rolled.

Pistachio cream:

100ml whipped cream, 8 grams klopfix (a dutch powder which makes the whipped cream sturdier, a quick google search showed gelatin could also be used), 1 drop of green coloring, 4 grams vanilla sugar, 25-50 grams of pistachios

  • Beat everything but the pistachios together until it is whipped cream, then gently stir through the pistachios.
  • When the sheet cake has cooled spread the cream over the cake and cut strips from the cake.
  • Take one strip and roll it up, roll the next strips around this first one, once you get longer strips you will need to do some cutting and puzzling. It is large enough when it completely covers the chocolate base.
  • Before placing it on the base spread a thin layer of chocolate ganache on the bottom.

Pistachio brittle:

20 grams of roasted pistachios, 30 grams of butter, 75 grams of brown sugar, 25 grams flour, pinch of cinnamon, pinch of salt, 2 table spoons water
*Note that this is a dutch cookie (Kletskoppen) and I called it brittle because it is the closest thing to it*

  • Melt the butter in a pan, take it off the heat and stir the sugar through the melted butter.
  • Add the flour, cinnamon and salt. Add the water and lastly add the roasted pistachios.
  • On a baking tray covered with baking paper make heaps the size of a tea spoon.
  • Make about 9 on a tray and leave tons of space as else the cookies will melt together. No worries if they do, once out of the even they are still flexible and you can gently break them apart.
  • Bake 8-12 minutes at 175 degrees Celsius. Once the cookies are caramel brown and stop bubbling (or bubble less) take them out. They will harden as they cool down!
  • Now cover the top and outside of the cake with white chocolate ganache and add the brittle on the outside.
  • To decorate sprinkle some leftover pistachios on top and around the cake.
  • If you have white chocolate left over you can grate some around the cake on the plate.

Enjoy!

 

